Two Communication and Media Studies professors are among the 2020-21 recipients of the prestigious Koret Scholars Award.

October 20, 2020

Associate Professor Emily Acosta Lewis and Assistant Professor Talena Sanders were awarded $8,000 each for two separate proposals. Acosta Lewis was selected for her proposal, "Diversity of Portrayals in Holiday Movies: Racial Stereotypes and Underrepresented Groups". Sanders's submission was "Fiction Film Research & Development and Documentary Film Distribution Planning".

Award selections are based on both the quality of the proposal and the dedication to high impact practice of engaging undergraduate students in research and creative experiences. Each award provides funding for one faculty mentor working with four undergraduate SSU students. Priority is given to applications that demonstrate diversity through the inclusion of student groups that have been shown to be underrepresented in higher education.

The Koret Scholars Awards are made possible by a grant from the Koret Foundation.