Advising

 Advising in Communication and Media Studies is done by last name.  Get advising early - it can help you plan your semester and career as a COMS major. See below for office hours and contact info, or go to the Faculty and Staff homepage for more info including live Zoom links.

FALL 22

Assigned COMS Advisors:      

A-Co                                     Emily Acosta Lewis

Cr-G                                      Gina Baleria

H-Me                                     Elizabeth Burch

Mo-Sc                                   Marco Calavita

Se-Z                                      Talena Sanders

Lower Division GE               Nicole Stein (see info below)

 

School of Arts and Humanities Lower Division GE Advising and Student Service Center


Nicole Stein is the Professional Academic Advisor for lower-division and GE advising for the School of Arts & Humanities. Nicole is offering remote appointments via Zoom or telephone. To schedule an appointment, please use LoboConnect. You may also contact The Advising & Transfer Center front-desk at 707-664-2730 or ssuadvisingcenter@sonoma.edu(link sends e-mail). Keep an eye out for upcoming workshops, webinars, and group-advising sessions, as well as limited drop-ins during PEAK advising in April.

The E-Advising Tools and FAQs for Students webpages also offer great information to help you as well!

Another great resource is the A&H Student Service Center. Click here for more information: A&H Student Service Center

Office Hours
Contact Office Hours
Emily Acosta Lewis
emily.acostalewis@sonoma.edu
707-664-2507
Office Hours via Zoom: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/my/emilyacostalewis

Tue:
8:00 a.m.-10:00 a.m. or by appointment
Corinne Asturias
asturias@sonoma.edu
707-664-2149
Mon:
4:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
Ray Giacopelli
707-664-2149
Gina Baleria
baleria@sonoma.edu
707-664-2149
Office Hours via Zoom: https://sonomastate.zoom.us/j/9016827359

Thu:
11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. or by appointment
Melinda Barnard
melinda.barnard@sonoma.edu
Ed Beebout
beebout@sonoma.edu
707-664-2149
Nichols 326 or appt. via Zoom: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/4311018186

Mon:
10:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. in person or by appointment via Zoom
Wed:
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. in person or by appointment via Zoom
Elizabeth Burch
elizabeth.burch@sonoma.edu
707-664-4059
OfficeHours via Zoom: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/93482865142

Tue:
3:30 p.m.-5:30 p.m.
Fri:
12:30 p.m.-1:30 p.m.
Marco Calavita
calavita@sonoma.edu
707-664-4209
Office Hours via Zoom: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/4503107491

Tue:
10:30 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Fri:
2:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m. or by appointment
Nate Campbell
nate.campbell@sonoma.edu
707-664-2149
Amy Gutierrez
gutierreza@sonoma.edu
707-664-2149
Office Hours via Zoom by appt.: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/87968423230
Len Haynes
707-664-2149
Eliza Hemenway
hemenwaye@sonoma.edu
Office Hours via Zoom: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/3786765769

Mon - Fri:
2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.
Hillary Homzie
homzie@sonoma.edu
707-664-2149
Office Hours via Zoom: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/7847638324

Thu:
12:00 p.m.-1:00 p.m. and by appointment
Michael Litle
litle@sonoma.edu
Jonah Raskin
jonah.raskin@sonoma.edu
Talena Sanders
sanderta@sonoma.edu
707-664-3389
Office Hours via Zoom: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/81093232996

Wed:
1:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m.
Tal Skloot
skloot@sonoma.edu
707-664-2149
SALZ 2025

Thu:
3:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m. and by appointment
Shelly Stephens
shelly.stephens@sonoma.edu
707-664-2149
Office Hours via Zoom: https://SonomaState.zoom.us/j/8929129445?pwd=YVYzdGR5SWt0QWluemNlMHQyK1ZzZz09

Mon - Fri:
2:00 p.m.-3:00 p.m.